Gluten-free Label Rules for Fermented and Distilled Foods Proposed by FDA

in Celiac, News
Published: November 18, 2015
picklesFermented foods, such as pickles and sauerkraut, will soon be getting gluten-free labeling rules from the FDA. Photo: Thinkstock

New rules for gluten-free labeling are being proposed for producers of fermented, distilled or hydrolyzed foods and beverages, the Food and Drug Administration announced this week.

In its release, the FDA noted that these regulations would cover products such as “yogurt, sauerkraut, pickles, cheese, green olives, vinegar, and FDA regulated beers.”

The FDA also says that it will be accepting public comments on the proposed labeling rules for these categories of food and drink. A key point in the proposed rules are the methods by which the FDA will verify compliance for such foods, which can be a challenge due to the processes of manufacture that differ significantly from traditional food products.

For a list of questions and answers about the proposed FDA rules for fermented, distilled and hydrolyzed foods, click here.

For details on how to comment directly to the FDA on the proposed rules, click here.